login | sign up
MembersCommercial DemoTestimonialsAbout UsServices & BenefitsPricingHome
 
All post are moderated.
Buildatour.com Community Forum
FACEBOOK - Koobface virus continues to make the rounds
Last Post 17 Jan 2009 12:33 PM by Buildatour.com. 2 Replies.
Printer Friendly
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
Author Messages Informative
Buildatour.com
Basic Member
Basic Member
Posts:122

--
09 Dec 2008 11:29 AM QuoteQuote ReplyReply  

BBCNews.com reported today that "Facebook's 120 million users are being targeted by a virus designed to get hold of sensitive information like credit card details."

The virus "koobface" is apparently spreading throughout the Facebook community by sending messages to members inboxes, appearing to be from a friend.

According to BBCNews.com, the message will read "you look funny in this new video" or "you look just awesome in this new video". A link is contained in the message. By clicking on the link, the user is asked to view "a secret video by Tom". When users then try to view the video, they're asked to download the latest version of Adobe Flash Player. When the Facebook member does this, the virus attacks their computer.

MySpace.com was targeted by the Koobface virus in August.

Facebook is not specific about how many users have been infected by the virus, but they do say it's a small percentage of users.

This is probably not a reason to stop using Facebook, but certainly a reason to beware.

If you have been affected by the Koobface Virus, please post a reply.

To read the BBCNews.com Full-Story, click the following link.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/hi/technology/newsid_7773000/7773340.stm' target='_blank'>http://news.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/hi/t...773340.stm
Buildatour.com .com
New Member
New Member
Posts:10

--
30 Dec 2008 11:17 AM QuoteQuote ReplyReply  
The lure for this virus sometimes promises a video of Paris Hilton tossing a dwarf.

The Koobface trap can also indicate that "You've been caught on a hidden camera".

If pursued, the message will take the user to a site that looks like YouTube. It will then ask the user to to click to download and install updated software. Downloading the supposed updated software (probably disguised as flash player)is when the users computer is infected.

If used properly, Facebook is an extremely useful tool for devoping and maintaining your sphere of influence as a real estate agent. But it should be used with care.

Facebook is warning that if a link or a message seems weird, don’t click on it.
Buildatour.com
Basic Member
Basic Member
Posts:122

--
17 Jan 2009 12:33 PM QuoteQuote ReplyReply  
Facebook was recently awarded a $873 million dollar against Adam Guerbuez, Atlantis Blue Capital and 25 others. Guerbuez is a Canadian citizen.

They were falsely obtaining users' Facebook account login information, and send spam messages to those user's friends. These spam messages would mysteriously show up on users' profile pages and seemed to indicate that the user endorsed controversial products such as marijuana, male enhancement pills, and others.

Facebook seems to be a valuable tool for maintaining contact with a specific group of individuals. Numerouse real estate agents use Facebook to stay in touch with previous clients and other agents, as well as a platform to advertise their brand and services.

In light of the Koobface and various other malicious attacks agains Facebook, it is probably wise to limit your Facebook activities to those that you're sure about. By all means, learn to recognize potentially harmful material, and don't download anything that you're not absolutely sure about.


Quick Reply
toggle
  Username:
Subject:
Body:
Security Code:
Enter the code shown above:
Subscribe: Check the box to receive email notifications for this topic.

Submit
Active Forums 4.1
NOT LICENSED FOR PRODUCTION USE
www.activemodules.com
© 2006-2009 buildatour.com | Site Map | Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | email: contact@buildatour.com